Older people often choose to spend their money on themselves (e.g., on holiday) rather than save money for their children after retirement. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a lot of people get mad with their parents because once the get old, instead of saving moneys for their children, they prefer to spend them all, to do what they want to do. So at the end of the day they don't have moneys for their children. This is a common thought, in fact, a lot of people think that their parents have to save moneys for them especially for their future. The main problem of this, mistaken thought, is the fact that in this way people can't become adults, because they will never get indipendent, which a very important thing, because it helps us to grow. As you could probably see from the second paragraph I do not like people who think that their parents have to give them money and, especially that they have to save their money, for which they have worked their entire life, so in this way their child is able to travel or to buy an house. I think that our parents, if, they have the possibility they would help us also once retired. But, I still don't like it, in fact I think that once we are adults we have to behave like adults and to stop asking moneys to mum and dad. In conclusion I think that even if a lot of people keep asking moneys to their parents, we should not behave in that way but we should work hard and gain our money, so in this way we will be much more indipendent.