In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the counryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

There is a significant growing rate of rural to urban area migration across the globe, reducing population in the countryside. I believe this is complete negative progress for upcoming future. The main reason behind this phenomenon is that majority of agricultural land is located near rural areas, which produce fruits, vegetables, and many more for daily intake. Migration towards cities lead a reduction on production of these everyday food items, as there can be a huge shortage for workers, resulting in, lower supply each year. Therefore, There are high chances of food prices rising extensively in shorter period of time. Not only countryside have an impact but cities can also face major problem. As more and more people shift to congested area for better job opportunities and lifestyle, accommodating a large number of individuals is an unavoidable issue. Consequently, citizens have to spend more for living as numbers of houses are not increasing at same rate as immigration. For instance, Surat, a city in India, had a mass immigration for job options from rural area in 1990, having a 40-50% price jump for rent and housing. In conclusion, The countryside and urban areas can have negative effect on their respective divisions. In addition, this could have a detrimental impact on country's growth as living cost would surpass each year.