Space exploration cost taxpayers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

The investment tax revenue on the exploration of space is quite hefty. Although, space exploration has its merits, like the possibility of finding another habitat, it has its drawbacks, like the redirection of resources from Earth -based problems. The chief merit, of investing in space exploration is to find another planet capable of sustaining life.With the growing pollution, life on Earth will become increasingly strenuous, and an alternative habitat could safeguard the existence of humanity. Moreover, this type of advancement has brought new inventions; memory foam, and scratch-resistant lenses are just a few of these inventions that helped ease astronauts in their jobs.Eventually, these inventions later found widespread application on Earth.These examples show that inventions in this field can indirectly improve living standards as well. Despite all the benefits it brings it also has drawbacks. The obvious drawback is the significant financial cost it takes to facilitate space research; Instead of focusing on outer space, these funds can be used to solve the problems occurring on Earth.To be specific, research to find sustainable and environmentally friendly energy can be funded. Furthermore, new vehicles can be introduced that emit less greenhouse gases.To add on all this, spending money on space travel can be dangerous as well; space is not fully discovered, hence, there may be a risk of exposure to radiation or maybe even worse, anew disease. This not only jeopardises the safety of the astronauts but also the common people if the disease is contagious. To conclude, funding space discovery can lead to new inventions and a new place to live, but it also comes with drawbacks like safety risk for astronauts and not focusing on Earth -based problems. Thus, in my opinion, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages; rather than spending profits on space, I recommend the government spend it on Earth.