In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally accepted that smoking is harmful. Many public spaces have signs prohibiting it, and in many countries, smoking in public places is even considered illegal. Some also argue that the fairest solution is to smoke outside the building or in designated areas away from crowds. I totally argue with this view, as smoking is detrimental to others' health, and public places should prioritise the majority. First and foremost, cigarette smoke harms the respiratory health of anyone exposed to it. This is mostly because it contains numerous toxic substances that can seriously damage the lungs, particularly among passive smokers. In Indonesia, for example, about 37% of children suffer from respiratory disorders due to older people smoke around them. That is why stricter regulations on public smoking are necessary to protect the health of non-smokers, especially vulnerable groups such as children and pregnant women. Futhermore, the primary role of public spaces is to safeguard the well-being of the majority. People have the right to use public facilities and without exposure to cigarette smoke. It is therefore reasonable for those who wish to smoke to leave the area. For instance, some railway stations provide a designated smoking area far from the waiting room and platforms. As a result, passengers are able to enjoy their journey without being disrupted by harmful smoke, while smokers are still accommodated. In conclusion, smoking indeed negatively affects those around smokers and deprives people of their basic right to breathe freely without exposure to smoke. I firmly believe that banning it in public places is fair and necessary.