Some people believe that the best way to teach children to behave well is through punishment, others disagree and point out that rewarding and praising them is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The best methods to raise children are a topic that is frequently debated. While some people think that punishing children is an effective way to correct bad behaviours, others argue that rewarding good behaviours is a more productive approach. This essay will discuss both perspectives and present my opinion. Parents who discipline their children through punishment often see changes in their behaviour. For example, when a child knows that performing specific acts can lead to severe consequences, he or she is more likely to avoid doing them. In addition, this approach might help children understand social norms and societal boundaries. In other words, punishment performed at home may give them a slight understanding about what is the real world is like, as they get older and indulge in society, and learn that acting badly often comes with consequences from authorities. On the other hand, rewarding children can push children to make more good actions. It is also possible to say that praising them with small incentives or even verbal encouragement excites them to do good deeds. As humankind tends to value and follow their parents' orders when they receive good comments from them. Moreover, positive reinforcements can foster long-term behaviour. To illustrate, such a trend works on changing their internal values, which leads to practising what children have learned not only in the presence of their family but also in their absence. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. I believe that a combination of punishment and praise is the most effective method for teaching children to behave well.