Children can learn effectively by simply watching television, therefore they should be allowed to do so to watch T.V. regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that changes in technology has lead to a wide range of opportunities and challenges. Many people believe that students can learn effectively by watching television. I partially agree because watching television offers several benefits to the students, it also brings various drawbacks. This essay will discuss both the views. On the one hand, there are various advantages of watching television, but one of the most prominent advantages is that it gives practical knowledge to pupils. In other words, if parents and schools allow their children to watch T.V., they can quickly learn and catch the visual representation which reamins in their memory for longer time. For instance, in India, many schools provide videos on specific subjects, such as Physics and Biology rather than providing theory knowledge. On the other hand, despite these positive aspects, there are several disadvantages associated with small screen. One of the most notable demerits is that it negatively impacts mental and physical health of children. This means that, if learners use excessive screen time it causes eye strain, sleep pattern disturbance, and a sedentary lifestyle. Moreover, many learners suffer from mental illness, such as anxiety and depression. For example, according to WHO report, many children suffer from obesity, cardiovascular disease, and mental illness. In conclusion, although watching screen has various boons, such as providing practical knowledge, it also has many bans, such as negative impact on health, which should not be ignored. Therefore, in my viewpoint, it is important to strike a balanced approach, so that the merits outweigh demerits.