Many believe that the goal of one’s career should be to pursue a passion while others feel it is merely a way to earn a livelihood. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

These days, there has been a growing debate about job opportunities, especially among the new generation of undergraduates. Some believe that choosing a job based on their motivation offers several benefits, while others argue that it is rather about the standard of living. In my opinion, I strongly believe that following your passion potentially provides numerous advantages for both professional achievement and happiness. To commence, there are a myriad of benefits to choosing a passionate position. The primary reason is that it motivates individuals to produce more work, increasing productivity which leads to more task achievements. Moreover, this choice could contribute to personal growth and career development due to more productivities. Finally, working in a passionate role would offer personal happiness, which gives rise to job sustainability, and remaining in a profession for a longer time. For instance, there was an interview with a person who works as a software engineer at Google, who needs to develop code in front of a computer daily without people interaction. Such an individual can develop several programs over time, coding without any break and creating several ideas due to his passion. On the other hand, financial stability plays a vital role in job decision-making for everyone. This can be challenging for diverse people to decide between their motivation or a high-salary position that might not be enjoyable, and many opt for a second choice since they might have various considerations, particularly financial security and family necessities. As well as this, work-life balance is another crucial factor. In other words, some people might opt for a position that is not their passion but offers more free time after working hours, leading to more time spent on their genuine hobbies or family.  In conclusion, although some may opine that choosing a high-income job could provide several benefits such as better financial needs and work-life balance, I firmly concur that pursuing a motivational job potentially promotes several aspects, including productivity, job longevity, and, of course, happiness in life.