Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

It is highly debated that every family should be provided with a water supply due to basic human rights. I partly agree with this suggestion, and the reasons will be explained as follows. On the one hand, providing households with clean water for free brings several merits. To begin with, it is an effective approach to prevent people from diseases such as skin problems and stomach issues. In other words, people's daily life, such as eating, drinking, and taking a bath, relies on clean water. It could affect an individual's health without clean water, leading to stressed medical systems, especially in those areas that have water pollution. Besides, due to financial considerations, not every home is able to afford clean water. If there were a free water supply, low-income families could live a high-quality life. As a result, they receive a sense of happiness. On the other hand, some drawbacks should be considered. Firstly, because corporations are not able to afford the cost of installation and fixing, the government has to provide grants. It may cause serious economic stress in countries. Furthermore, to tackle this problem, the government is more likely to raise taxes or reduce welfare. Secondly, it could become a waste in some regions. For mountains or countryside, where they originally have high-quality water, a clean water supply is not necessary for them. In conclusion, although having a clean water supply in every home brings some advantages to individuals, there are disadvantages that cannot be neglected. Therefore, I partly agree with the statement.