It is sometimes thought that people who travel outside of their own country are more tolerant and understanding of others. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Society today has changed greatly, and this includes how people behave. Many think that travelling abroad and being exposed to other cultures, can make them more understanding and accepting of others. I completely disagree with this idea. This essay will provide evidence to support my point of view. First, I strongly believe that there is no need to travel to other countries to learn tolerance and understanding. People can live in their own country and mix with people from different backgrounds. For example, in Kuwait, there are more than one hundred and forty nationalities who have settled down in this tiny country. I personally deal with non-Kuwaitis on a daily basis at my work, without the need to travel. Also, I'm definitely sure that anyone here can interact with foreigners, not just at work, but also outside their work environment in places like malls and gyms. In addition, I believe that travelling won't have the ability to make anyone more tolerant and understanding of others. Such behaviours depend mainly on an individual's personality and character. For instance, I used to know people who lived abroad for a couple of years, and they still lack the ability to accept and deal with people from other cultures and religions. I agree that the skill of understanding others is gained at a young age and influenced by their environment. Someone who has lived in a community that is friendly and practices acceptance will definitely gain these behaviours. In conclusion, it is clear to see that people do not have to travel outside their country to be more tolerant and understanding. My contention is that this can be achieved without travelling.