Some people believe that alcohol should be considered a drug and made illegal. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent times, there has been an increasing number of people drinking alcohol in their lives. Under the circumstances, some argue that alcohol should be made illegal. This essay will support this statement, as alcohol intake can not only contribute to elevating a crime rate drastically but people are also inclined to become addicted to it. To begin, there is a strong linkage between a high crime rate and alcohol intake. The rationale is, that alcohol intake often impairs a capacity for judgement, leading individuals to take more abrupt, reckless, and impulsive actions. To illustrate this, when people drive a car with alcohol, they tend to drive at a fast speed over the speed limit, as they have more confidence in their capabilities. Hence, this unusual behaviour and immoral action amplify the rate of many types of crimes. Another imperative point is that there are a number of adults who are addicted to alcohol. Even though most of them started to drink alcohol in moderation, the amount of alcohol intake tends to increase, making it difficult to quit it. As a result of this, their lives would be completely destroyed by alcohol addiction, as they significantly lose motivation, emotional regulation, and logical thinking. It is not rare for those people to rely on their family members financially due to the fact that they are no longer capable of working and being independent. In conclusion, I contend that alcohol should be unlawful because an increase in crime rate and alcohol addiction are dire social problems.