The restoration of historic buildings in major cities around the world involves significant government expenditure. These funds could be better allocated towards the development of new housing and road infrastructure. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that the government should increase expenditure on development of new housing and transport infrastructure instead of restoring historic buildings. This essay totally disagrees with this suggestion for several reasons. The first argument given to support my opinion is that historic edifices play a vital role in the advancement of travel. The reason is that heritage landmarks appeal to tourists because of their timeless value. Therefore, the restoration of historic structures to promote tourism will bring major economic benefits for the nation. By way of illustration, foreign tourists visit Italy because they may want to admire the beauty of the Leaning Tower of Pisa. This is why I think that the investment in the preservation of historic edifices is more valuable than housing and road infrastructure which do not have as many benefits as the former. Another point behind my belief is that the preservation of historic edifices is the protection of cultural identity. This is because culture plays an important role in strengthening a country’s spirit and this also represents the pride of the state. If the government reduce the expenditure on the restoration of historic buildings, these pieces will be damaged over the time. As a result, one day, the cultural identity of the nation will be impaired too. A case in point is that Hung Kings Temple is a destination where Vietnamese people show their respect and gratitude to the Kings in the history. For this reason, I reckon that it is necessary to restore heritage landmarks in order to protect the historic value of the country. In conclusion, I entirely disagree with the idea that the government should prioritize spending on new housing and transportation over the restoration of historic buildings given the aforementioned arguments.