Some believe that installing CCTVs in high crime areas will help to reduce crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Some people believe that installing CCTVs can reduce crime. In this essay, I will discuss advantages and disadvantages of this opinion. There are a lot of CCTVs in these days and it makes us safer but also can invade our privacy at the same time. Firstly, there are two advantages of installing CCTV. It can protect us from several threats or crimes. If people know they are being watched, they may not want to break the law. For instance, thieves or robbers might stop their actions when they see a camera. In addition, CCTV recordings are useful for the police. They can find some suspects by checking CCTV footage. This makes it easier to solve cases and catch criminals. However, there are also some problems with CCTV. First, cameras cannot stop every crime. Some criminals wear masks or find places without cameras. Also it is difficult to keep our privacy safe. For example, there are some issues where people's private lives were exposed by CCTVs. For these reasons, people are very worried about installing CCTVs. Therefore, I think the advantage of CCTV is reducing some crimes while the disadvantage is violating our personal privacy.