Learning English at school is often seen as more imporiant than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

When it comes to learn new languages in school, some think the curriculum should focus on the English language rather than the local language; however, others believe learning about the mother tongue is as important as any other languages. I think while learning English is still extremely vital for the future, ensuring the local language is preserved is something that everyone must care about. On the one hand, English can be considered a universal language. So, everyone will need it in their lives for different reasons, from education and professional goals, such as higher education, immigrating abroad, reading articles, and job opportunities to simple hobbies like watching movies, following the news and so on. That is why it is essential for students to at least become bilingual, with English as the second language. On the other hand, the local language is part of the heritage of any person, and it shall not be forgotten by residents of the area, no matter what. Therefore, the school and above that the government ought to make sure the local language is taught in school and student become familiar with the basics of it and how to use it efficiently in their everyday lives. Local residents, especially elderly people of the citizens also have a significant responsibility to ensure that the younger generation knows they are the legacy and shall care about their background and even be proud of it. To illustrate my point, take the Persian language as an example. Even though the English language is far more popular among youngsters and adolescents, and they attend English classes from a young age, and consequently they can easily and fluently speak English, typing Persian words in English letters, which was called Finglish, no longer exist among them. The influence of older generations and making sure the new generation is aware of the importance of the mother tongue. To sum up, while learning English as a second language in school is critical, the government must make sure the students become familiar with their own language. The influence of older generations and making sure the teenagers are aware of the importance of their mother tongue and its part in their heritage and legacies can be essential to ensure the local language will be preserved in the future.