Some People believe that allowing children to make their own choice on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other People believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

IT IS INDISPUTABLE THAT MANY HUMANS THINK THAT LETTING THEIR KIDS DEAL WITH THEIR OWN NEEDS, LIKE FOOD OR CLOTHES, COULD END UP WITH A KID WHO ONLY CARES ABOUT HIMSELF. WHILE ON THE OTHER HAND PEOPLE HOLD THE IDEA OF HOW IT'S SO IMPORTANT FOR KIDS TO DECIDE FOR THEIR OWN STUFF. IN THIS ESSAY WE WILL EXAMINE THE TOPIC FROM BOTH POINTS OF VIEW AND I WILL PRESENT MY OPINION. FIRSTLY, LETTING KIDS DECIDE FOR THEMSELVES WOULD HELP THEM DISCOVER THEIR OWN PERSONALITY AND HELP THEM BE MORE RESPONSIBLE. IN OTHER WORDS, THE MORE AND MORE KIDS GET TO CHOOSE FOR THEMSELVES MAINLY EVERY DAY, THIS WILL HELP THEM DISTINGUISH BETWEEN THE THINGS THAT THEY OWN AND THE THINGS THAT THEY DON’T, THINGS THAT THEY SHOULD TAKE CARE OF AND THINGS THAT THEY COULD THROW AWAY. FOR INSTANCE, MY 7-YEAR-OLD LITTLE SISTER, WE HAVE BEEN TEACHING HER HOW TO TAKE CARE AND MAINTAIN THE DAMAGE THAT COULD HAPPEN TO HER TOYS AND ROOM. AFTER A YEAR OF THIS DAILY HABIT, SHE WOULD NOT LEAVE FOR SCHOOL WHILE HER ROOM IS IN A MESS, SHE EVEN GOES TO SLEEP WITH HER STUFF READY FOR TOMORROW MORNING. SHE STARTED REMINDING ME EVERY TIME I FORGOT TO PACK HER LUNCH. SHE DOES NOT ALLOW ANYBODY TO GET INSIDE HER ROOM WITHOUT TAKING OFF THEIR DIRTY SHOES. AND THIS EFFECT IS NOT ONLY FOR HER ROOM. SHE STARTED TO USE THE SAME METHOD FOR EVERY PLACE IN THE HOUSE. ANOTHER IMPORTANT ASPECT IS THAT PARENTS WILL BE MORE UNDERSTANDING WITH THEIR KIDS ’ SPECIAL CHOICES. A LOT OF MOTHERS CAN’T STAND THE IDEA OF KIDS REFUSING TO DO THE THINGS THAT THEY ARE ASKED FOR, THINKING THAT THEIR KIDS HATE THEIR TASTE IN FASHION, OR THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW HOW TO COOK. BUT IT IS JUST THAT KIDS LIKE TO FEEL POWERFUL IN THEIR EARLY DAYS. PARENTS KNOWING THIS WILL MAKE IT SO MUCH EASIER TO DEAL WITH THEIR KIDS, AND THE KID WILL BE SO CONFIDENT. FOR INSTANCE, MY LITTLE SISTER IS MY MOTHER’S FAVOURITE. SINCE SHE STARTED LEARNING HOW TO DEPEND ON HERSELF, MY MOM KNEW HER VERY WELL AND HOW TO DEAL WITH SUCH A PERSONALITY. AND THEIR BOND BECAME STRONGER. IN CONCLUSION, THIS ISSUE IS COMPLEX AND DOES NOT HAVE A STRAIGHTFORWARD ANSWER. OVERALL, I HOLD THE IDEA THAT KIDS COUNTING ON THEMSELVES HAS SO MANY ADVANTAGES THAN THE DISADVANTAGES.