Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, children are constantly engaged with smartphones as a habit, which is caused by modern urban and architectural design. This excessive reliance on digital entertainment is certainly a harmful movement, that can lead the next generation to irreparable health problems. Modern cities' design pushes youngsters to be engaged with smartphones. Urban environments and residential buildings are designed without enough consideration for children' essential need for physical activities, so, there is no appropriate play space for them without annoying their family members or neighbours. To compensate for this lack of popular pursuit, they excessively rely on screens as engaging entertainment that completely adapts to city life and apartment-living lifestyle. Constant engagement with digital entertainment leads to irreparable health problems. Firstly and importantly, it causes physical health issues such as eye strain, headaches, poor posture, and sleep disturbances. Additionally, it can lead to mental health problems such as stress, anxiety, and reduced attention span. Also, it has a bad effect on their social and emotional relationships since they may spend less time in face-to-face interactions, leading to weaker social skills. Finally, addictive behaviours can be aroused since continuous stimulation can create dependency. As evidence, a study in the United States showed children with regular usage of digital entertainment are strongly in a higher risk of anxiety, depression, behavioural problems, ADHD, poor sleep, and less physical activity. In conclusion, modern cities design shifted next generation to relying on smartphones as an engaging entertainment, and it is a harmful development with an irremediable effect on their well-being status.