In some countries, schools have started teaching students about criminal laws and the consequences of breaking them. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is increasingly common for schools in some countries to teach students about the criminal laws and the results of disobeying them. In my opinion, this trend should be considered positive, because it can prevent people from committing crimes and teaches the younger population to respect the authorities. Education about the law and how it is enforced offers numerous benefits to the government, one of which is the prevention of offences. To be more exact, as students are taught about the consequences of criminal acts, they will make decisions which does not lead them to disobey the law in the future. Furthermore, many teenagers are involved in criminal acts not because of intention but ignorance. Were they to learn what is right and wrong, misbehaviour such as vandalism and bullying would be prevented in school. A case in this point is Canada, where public awareness about criminalism was increased through education programs in 1991, thereby resulting in a considerable decline in crime rates in the following year. Similarly, education can assist in building responsible citizens. Learning laws encourages moral and civic responsibilities, which the vast majority of teenagers lack. During the learning process, learners understand the necessity of laws and for which their enforcement is of paramount importance. As a result, they will grow up respecting the government and acknowledging their responsibilities. On the occasion of police investigations, judgments and inspections, they will be more likely to understand the situation and act in accordance with the law. In conclusion, teaching students about the results and the importance of law at schools should be seen as positive, seeing as not only can it reduce the felony rates, but it can also help people to be more responsible and understand the enforcement processes.