ome children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, we can observe a lot of advances in technology. One of the essential things that has been invented recently is the smartphone. It can be seen that some children tend to use these gadgets a lot during their days. There are several reasons for that, and what I believe is that it can be very harmful for them. I am going to elaborate on this in the following. On the one hand, children prefer to use smartphones every day because they help them to meet most of their needs. Smartphone technology has provided an online world. Therefore, all the people, especially children, try to be connected with that to stay updated. In this way, they can find a lot of knowledge and information, they can be in touch with their friends and play games. Moreover, using different appliances which are equipped with technology is really important for them because they look rich and high-class. As a result, they make their effort to receive them from their parents and show them to their peers. On the other hand, excessive utilise of smartphones can affect their health. Sore eyes are one of the effects of spending too much time on digital screens. Furthermore, this activity is really addictive for children. They plan to repeat it more and more every day. Consequently, they cannot focus on their studies, they become more carefree people, and do not pay enough attention to their parents and teachers’ advice. These bad behaviours leave them behind, and they will not become successful in academic lessons. In conclusion, although technology has improved our lives to have enough access to the internet and smartphones, children should be aware of the drawbacks of excessive use. I recommend that parents determine a limited time for children by persuading them to other recreational activities.