New technologies present children with new possibilities and potential danger. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of technology on children in todays society.

New technologies undoubtedly come with risks and potential adverse effects. The risks are increased when it comes to children, since they are in their decisive developmental years of life. However, new technological advancements also present us with many opportunities to improve children's upbringing. I believe it comes down to how parents are willing to supervise their children and how they utilize technology. To begin with, I believe new technologies such as interactive video games, virtual reality, and on-demand streaming have proven to have extreme disadvantages for children. Parents are either unaware or unable to monitor the content that their children consume through the technological mediums that I named, and that has adverse effects both on their mental and physical development. Spending significant time behind a screen, which is often attached to new technologies, harms children's eye sight and may result in poor posture. Furthermore, the content that children nowadays mostly consume, via video games and shows, is largely inappropriate and contains violence, sexual themes, and even vulgar language. On the contrary, new technologies also provide us with unprecedented opportunities to educate children and maintain their interest in topics such as science and mathematics through interactive software and hardware. For instance, virtual reality headsets can be used to present subjects that were previously considered boring in an exciting manner, similar to a video game. From my experience, children are visual learners; therefore, giving them access to a large library of digital photos and footage that they can learn from improves the efficiency of teaching. In conclusion, new technologies present new risks and opportunities for children, and their advantages and disadvantages must be taken into account before we start using them en masse. Technological advancements allow us to provide children with a more engaging and fun educational experience, but they also come with their own unique risks, which should be taken seriously to avoid physical and mental harm. All new technologies need constant monitoring and evaluation by adults to mitigate the negative effects that they can have on children.