In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing?

It has been pointed out that travelling by air globally has been soaring in recent years. Personally, I opine that a decrease in fares is the reason for this alteration, and this is a completely positive situation which will bring huge economic benefits to nations. First of all, cheaper flying is the cause for an increase in the number of passengers. This is because, due to the support of governments, airline companies are able to invest their funds to conduct research on decreasing their total expenses, which allows them to sell cheaper tickets for every passenger, enabling more people to travel globally. For instance, a vast majority of executive managers of airlines say that they have been receiving subsidies from the local government for several years, which they have been using to perform experiments to look for an economical fuel alternative. A few months ago, they found a new and cheaper energy resource, which saved a huge amount of money, leading to a lower ticket price for their customers and even encouraging more travellers to choose to fly to their destinations. Furthermore, the boom in the number of flight takers is beneficial for the development of the global economy. The reason is that as travelling by air becomes more affordable and accessible for every person, individuals are more likely to travel to a place which is far away from their hometowns, which stimulates the development of tourism. As a result of this, the demand for other sectors, such as accommodation and the retail industry, is rising, contributing to the local economic prosperity. As an illustration, a French officer in the department of tourism mentions that a large number of Chinese tourists choose to come to Paris to enjoy their vacations in the summer this year due to cheaper flights, which stimulates the needs in the service sector, thus promoting local financial growth. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinions about what is the cause for the expansion in the use of aeroplanes for global travel and whether it is a positive circumstance, while I am of the opinion that this is a fascinating trend, and the lower flight fare is the reason for it.