In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in many countries, people have longer life expectancy compared to the past. Some people believe that an ageing population causes challenges for governments, whereas others think that there are advantages if society has more elderly people. Having more elderly people has several benefits. For example, the society can learn from their experience and knowledge and they can work as counselors with government, but it also has some drawbacks. For example, the government must provide them with a monthly salary even if they do not work. In addition, they need a good medical care provided by the government. A major disadvantage of longer lives is that the elderly need someone to take care of them and also they need many medicines because of their age. Moreover, the government should allocate money to give them their salary. Nevertheless, these are basic rights for them, as they work with the government to improve the country for decades. For instance, in Japan, the number of young people is less than that of the elderly; therefore, the government spend a large amount of money on their salary even though the government does not have enough manpower. On the other hand, one of the benefits of having more elderly people in the community is that the amount of knowledge and experience they have. This is because the faced many troubles and they know how to respond and they can advise young people to avoid some mistakes they have done before. In conclusion, this increasing in life expectancy has benefits, as we can learn from elderly's experience. Nonetheless, it has some negative aspects because governments should give them salary and health care, which costs governments a large amount of money.