Some believe that watching the news on TV and reading newspapers is a waste of time because the news has no relevance to people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it has become increasingly common for people to make rational decisions when it comes to buying a particular product and be independent of advertisement. While this trend can be attributed to a blend of a rise in product awareness and social changes, In my opinion it largely represents a positive development. On the one hand, in today's modern society, people are usually bombarded with ads on a daily basis irrespective of their age, financial, and racial backgrounds. Many companies hire a group of professionals who restlessly promote their service or products through online gimmicks, TV ads, and billboards in order to make as much profit as possible. For many years people used to fall victim to marketing traps and purchase unnecessary items, however, nowadays many customers have learned to make right calls as far as their money is concerned. Given ever-increasing cost of living, people have started spending less money then before. Instead, now they invest in their health, education, and professional careers. Gone are the times, when people were ready to spend their last pennies on stuff they saw on TV, as many individuals have become more financially educated. On the other hand, recent social changes have tranformed the conventional consumeristic behaviour. To begin with, now people are less attracted to brands and they prefer quality and comfort over being socially recognized. For example, today's youth may prefer putting on plain clothes over wearing brand gourments such as Dior or Dolce Gabanna and invest in their future. Buying luxurious cars is not a symbol of status anymore owing to eco-friendly cars. Meanwhile, as the sales of top brands has decreased, their roles in a consumer market dropping as well, resulting in a drop in a marketing. Moreover, top athletes and musicians constantly call people to be more concious of their purchases and do not follow the crowd blindely. A good case in point is Cristiano Ronaldo who removed a bottle of Coca Cola during the EURO 2016 after which the sales of soda crashed within a few weeks. Thus, now people prioritize themselves over looking nice in the eyes of others. To my mind, these changes may serve as a catalyts for a promising future since if people start saving more money, they will have an opportunity to invest in themselves, pay for a better school, and donate money to charaties to make the World a better place. At the same time, they can travel more and have quality family time with their loved ones. Consequently, the more they are satisfied with their lives, the more productive they can become. Had people become aware of it before, they would lead more meaningful lives. In conclusion, it is undeniable that advertisement used to be an integral part of people's lives, forcing them to buy as much products as possible. However, it has changes due to recent social changes and public awarness when it comes to making a purchase. In my opinion, it is a positive development and will result in a better lifestyles and brighter future.