With the rise of social media, many people seek validation through likes and followers. Why has this become so prevalent? What effects does this have on an individual's self-esteem and overall mental wellbeing?

In today's contemporary world, it is common to see many social media users that are trying to get attention from their followers, with putting too much effort. There are ongoing debates about its reasons, and effects on people's confidence or mental welfare.  In details, due to the immense development in the field of technology digital platforms become the most popular apps among others. Thanks to technological development, it is more easy and convenient to communicate with your family and friends, even though there are live far away. For example, many people nowadays doing long-distance relationship with the help of Skype and Whatsapp, as they can talk through messaging or video call whenever and wherever they want. Additionally, an ever-increasing number of people are using social media to share their daily routines and photos to stay connected and getting likes or more followers in terms of being popular. On the other hand, the rise of social platforms have several negative impacts on user's both mental and physical health. Firstly, seeing other people perfect lifestyles and wealth can create a sense of jealousy and may reduce their self-confidence, as they would start to compare their lives with others. For instance, many Instagram influencers trying to show their perfect lives, although it can be fake, and this actions create social unrest in society. Moreover, spending too much time in front of computer or digital gadgets, may lead a sedentary lifestyle and physical health issues, including poor posture and eyesight. To sum up, increasing popularity of social platforms lead many people to seek attention through applications, which can create mental issues such as, loss of self-esteem and unrest in a long-term.