Some people think for those who commit serious crime need to given death penalty. However, other believes there could be better alternatives to death penalty. Discuss the both point of views.

There is no denying the fact that serious crimes have a major impact on society. While it is a commonly held belief that anyone who commits a dangerous crime should receive the death penalty, there is also an argument that other alternatives could be more effective. This essay will discuss both sides of the issue and express my own opinion. On one hand, supporters of the death penalty argue that it helps protect society from dangerous criminals. In other words, if a person commits a murder and is not executed, other people might feel unsafe and lose trust in the government’s ability to protect them. Moreover, capital punishment can act as a strong deterrent, making people think twice before committing serious crimes. For example, in some countries where the death penalty is still applied, the crime rate tends to be lower because of the fear of such punishment. On the other hand, it is important to remember that every human being can make mistakes, and some criminals deserve a second chance. Life imprisonment, for instance, allows offenders to reflect on their actions and possibly change into better individuals. Furthermore, the death penalty can cause pain and anger among the criminal’s family members, which might lead to more social problems or even violence. Rehabilitation and education programs could be more effective in the long term for both the offender and society. In conclusion, there is no simple answer to this complex issue. However, I personally believe that the death penalty should be replaced with other forms of punishment, as it often creates more harm than good. Governments should focus on rehabilitation and justice rather than revenge.