- TOPIC: A tendency that the news report in the media focuses on problems and emergencies rather than the positive development is harmful to both the individual and the society. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Media have always played a particular role in society. They are an instrument which is capable of influencing people worldwide. However, many complain about the way they gained their popularity, since they have been focusing mostly on problems and drama. I do find such behaviour harmful and believe that they have a negative impact on society. The news reports create a hostile image of the world. Individuals who base their knowledge on TV may often be under the false impression that their environment consists mostly of violence and crimes as such topics enjoy the biggest popularity on television. For instance, news highlighting any form of wrongdoing are much more interesting than the others. Media, therefore, benefit from people's desire to hear about hostility and, as a result, create a wrong image of the world, which can be harmful to society. In addition, such an approach can make individuals less friendly towards each other. People who constantly hear about crimes and violence not only have less trust in the rest of society but also may be more hostile towards one another. To illustrate this, if you see wrongdoing so often on TV, you may suffer from a lack of reliance on other people. Consequently, the news reports have a negative impact on individuals. In conclusion, I agree with the statement that media have a harmful impact on both society and individuals. Their actions can contribute to the creation of a false image of the world, and make people less friendly towards one another.