Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Taking some specific medicines or therapies rather than seeing a doctor is becoming more and more popular in today's society. While some people regard this phenomenon as a problem threatening our health in particular circumstances, I firmly contend that the trend is a positive development and will continue to extend in the future, as I will elaborate in this essay. First and foremost, the convenience that already-made treatments can bring is apparent and significant. Not going to an actual hospital or clinic possesses many potential benefits, such as avoiding being affected by the virus which other patients might bring, saving the wasted time from transporting and waiting in line, and saving money from the high medical treatment costs. For instance, Japan is renowned for its cosmetic stores which contain various kinds of medicines targeting different situations like catching a cold or an allergic. Statistics have shown that over 70% of those goods which was brought back to Taiwan by tourists are alternative medicines and treatments due to their cheap price and convenience. The medicines have changed our lives; there is no need to go to a doctor when we know we might catch a cold, having a pill from Japan can fix it. However, there are still people debating that those medicines have a chance to cause negative effects on humans if we use them wrong, for instance, if we take the pill for allergies while having a headache that might be caused by another reason, the consequences will bring damage to ourselves. Whereas, we can deal with this problem easily in this information-exploding era. There are plenty of AI tools that can help us clarify which disease we might have encountered, and using the correct alternative medicine to treat it will have the same effect compared to visiting a doctor that we are familiar with. In conclusion, I maintain that trying alternative medicines should be an effective way instead of visiting a regular doctor. Compared to traditional therapies, alternative medicines have the same effect but are even cheaper, time-saving, and convenient.