In the past,everyone wore clothes accordingto their culture,but now people wear similar clothes allaround the world.ls this a positive or a negativedevelopment?

In the past, people dressed according to the traditions of their countries, while the fashion styles of people all over the world are becoming increasingly similar. From an economic and social perspective, I believe that this is a positive development. Wearing similar clothes is beneficial to the development of the global clothing industry. According to globally similar demands, not only can the clothing industries achieve highly standardized production and large-scale global sales, but they also offer lots of job opportunities, so that they can increase the employment rate. Take ZARA, a fashion clothing brand, as an example. In recent years, ZARA has rapidly occupied the Chinese clothing market, which has become the first choice for young people. In 2023, ZARA achieved about 137 billion in income; at the same time, it also provided over 100 thousand job chances for Chinese workers, which boosted regional economic development. Therefore, wearing similar clothes potentially increases employment in textile, design and delivery and promotes global trade growth. Dressing in similar clothing enhances social equity. Traditional costume is often associated with class and power. For instance, in ancient Egypt, only nobility were allowed to wear luxurious clothes, while commoners could only dress in cotton or linen clothes, which essentially reflected the uneven distribution of social resources in terms of clothing and exacerbated social inequality. In contrast, similar clothing does not have any distinct class signals. Individuals are not treated differently based on their clothing choices, which helps to reduce the opportunity bias caused by clothing and promotes social fairness. In conclusion, not only can dressing in similar clothes boost global trade growth, but it can also narrow the gap between individuals and improve social equity. Therefore, there is no doubt that it is a positive development.