Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that social responsibility and moral behaviour should be shaped at home. Others disagree, believing that moral education plays a more effective role in developing these qualities. This essay will discuss both perspectives before giving a personal view. A key argument in favour of parents teaching these values is that they are children ’s first and foremost educators. Long before children reach school age, they grow up observing their parents interact with others. They also learn from their habits and behaviour. This development leads children to unconsciously imitate their parents. For example, research conducted in Japan shows that preschoolers with communicative families performed 42% better in social development than those who had little parental interaction. For this reason, it is important for parents to actively communicate with their offspring and teach them to behave as responsible members of society. On the other hand, advocates of schools claim that these places offer a more systematic form of social and moral education. School curricula are designed by experts who understand child psychology and personal growth. Moreover, a diverse classroom environment where students come from different backgrounds allows them to learn practical communication skills. For instance, studies show that primary school students are more likely to share their belongings with classmates compared to homeschooled children. As a result, they tend to develop a less-centred mindset and learn to respect one another. In conclusion, although parents play a crucial role in children's social development, gaining knowledge at school broadens practical experience. In my opinion, the roles and responsibilities of parenting are more impactful on children's behaviour as members of society, since preschool age is the optimal time for them to form their personality.