You don’t need a teacher to learn English. All you need are a dictionary and a grammar book. Do you agree with this? If not give reasons. If you agree give reasons.

It is often argued that books for learning English play a better role than teachers. I strongly disagree with this sentence, because literature cannot contain all the content of English education, and also learning English from teachers can provide more effective ways. In this essay, I will discuss those two reasons why teachers are a better means of learning English than books with details. In detail, there are obvious limitations of reading materials for learning English. First of all, most dictionaries and grammar books teach students only formal rules, which can be awkward for English speakers. On the other hand, students are able to know commonly used expressions, collocations, or sayings in real conversations, which are hard to understand with different cultural backgrounds. For example, in a specific university in Australia, 70% of students who studied English by themselves with reading materials failed a writing test due to their inappropriate vocabulary and usage. As a result, overseas learners can get used to various and proper expressions from teachers. Secondly, people can be skilled more easily by interacting with people than just getting knowledge from books. In particular, English learners need tutors to correct their mistakes and explain why they are wrong. Otherwise, they cannot solely find what they misuse or need to fix. For instance, in research conducted by a Japanese team, subjects who get direct feedback from native speakers take 35% less time to learn English than those who practice with grammar books. To sum up, studying English with tutors can be a rapid and easy process for foreigners. In conclusion, I believe that there are more merits of learning English from teachers, because teachers can resolve the limitations of materials, and teach them in effective ways, such as giving feedback.