A knowledge of maths isn’t important for many jobs nowadays. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the majority of the jobs these days do not require mathematical proficiency. I completely agree with this statement because of technological advancement and there are jobs that require empathy and emotional connection. The primary reason why I hold this view is due to advancement in artificial intelligence as which is being increasingly used in most of the calculative tasks. As a result many organisations are actively incorporating AI to perform calculations and predictions based on the past trends. If machines can perform complex calculations, there is no need to have knowledge of complex mathematical equations. For example, these days there are various software such as Xero, which can handle complex accounting data and this can be operated by any individual having basic computer literacy. Another reason why maths is not that crucial because there are jobs like counselling and human service sector where employees need to deal with people not numbers. When a therapist sees their clients, there is no need to talk about the numbers and data. If people working in human service sector such as social workers have to deal with numbers, it may decrease their performance and increase burnout. For example, psychologist working with a patient dealing with depression does not require to do complex mathematical equation to resolve the issue. In conclusion, mathematical knowledge is not that essential in present context due to rapid development in technology and there are jobs where professionals need to deal with emotions and I, therefore, believe most of jobs do not need knowledge of maths.