Many species of animals and plants are disappearing from the world. ➤ What are the causes of this loss of biodiversity? ➤ What can be done to prevent it?

In recent years, the world has witnessed a dramatic decline in the number of animal and plant species. This phenomenon can be attributed to several human activities, and various measures can be taken to address it. I firmly believe that this issue has a largely negative impact on global biodiversity. One major cause of biodiversity is habitat destruction, as forests, wetlands are cleared for agriculture, housing, and industrial expansion. For example, the distraction of the Amazon rainforest not only eliminates countless plants, however forces animal species too such as jaguars, monkeys, and those listed in the Red Book, animals lose their natural habitats. Moreover, many animals are hunted and killed for commercial purposes, especially for their skins, fur, and body parts used in clothing and luxury products. Additionally, snakes, elephants are slaughtered for ivory. Thus, many animals and plants are suffering from these issues. To address these negative effects, several measures can be implemented. Firstly, the government should protect the natural habitats by establishing national parks, wildlife reserves, and marine protected areas, which can provide safe environments. For animals and plants threatened by deforestation and urbanisation. Secondly, the government should provide strict laws and enforcement against poaching and illegal trade of animal skins, fur, and body parts. At the final stage, all natural habitats can be protected and save their lives from these hazards. In conclusion, although the most luxurious brands continue to demand animal skins and rare plant materials, worsening the situation, there are other lifeless products that can be an example to continue their business. Therefore, sustainable practices, strong laws, and education are essential to protect biodiversity for future generations.