Some believe secondary students should learn international news as a subject at school, while others think it’s a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

High school students learn many different subjects. We all know there are basic subjects that form the foundation of every profession. In addition, students have started learning extra courses at school. For example, at my school we study law, business, and religion. People's opinions are divided about learning international news as a subject at school. Some people believe that secondary school students should study international news as a subject. The first reason is that it would be helpful for students, because they need to choose a profession for the future. If they choose international relations, knowledge about international news will become an important factor in politics. The second reason is that students should have a broad horizon.They are no longer children; they are adults. Therefore, they should be well-informed about many things. However, others have a different opinion. They think that learning international news as a school subject is a waste of time, since many students have already chosen their future profession. They believe students should concentrate on their main field of study. Extra subjects take a lot of time, so students may not have enough time for their core subjects. Because of this, many students lose focus on their main studies. In conclusion, I want to share my opinion. In my view, both opinions are reasonable. Therefore, studying international news should be optional. Those who want or need it can learn it, but it should not be a compulsory subject. As a high school student, I can say that learning international news is not very important and does not have much meaning for students.