Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people have different views about whether studying history can assist them in understanding the present times or the history of the past does not make any sense. Personally, although communities have the right to learn historical information or not, I completely believe that by knowing their past society can gain some benefits. On the one hand, it is probably true that knowing the history of people cannot significantly change the future time. It is all about the fact that some of the information in the written timeline may not be true. Moreover, individuals cannot simply claim that their past was as they say it was without any evidence. Thus, I think that historical facts are for us to just realize how the time was before and experience that period by reading or listening to them. For instance, many schools provide history lessons in order to make pupils understand their background, ancient famous people and traditions. However, there are a number of pros of learning the history. Firstly, in many countries today, the study of history is valued for helping people understand the present. For example, plenty of individuals realise how and to whom they currently exist by reading or studying their ancient history. Secondly, humans are not born with knowledge of their traditions and mentality. It means that only through saved and written historical elements they are able to figure out their own traditions and so on. In addition, the history is also impactful in order to researching other nations. To give a clear example, in some countries students also study world history and after they obtain some knowledge about different countries, near and far. In conclusion, society has the freedom to choose to study or not to touch history, but I believe that through knowledge of the past people can realise what they are today