Some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes.

There is a debate whether middle school students should receive personalised teaching or be taught all together regardless of their abilities. In my opinion, learning at an individual rate has its benefits, but that does not outweigh the downside of it. First, adjusting to the rate of their classmates prepares the pupils for adult life. In most real-life scenarios, you have to accommodate others; not everything can be personalised to your personal needs. A good example of that would be the workspace, where you will have to adjust to the surrounding community, as it is a group space where compromising with every worker's expectations is not possible. If children grow up expecting everything to be personalised to them, wouldn’t that result in a shock coming out to see that it is not how it works in adult life? Second, it is important to mention that kids can be ruthless, and everyone being at different levels would very likely cause bullying and discrimination. Most pre-teens or early teenagers go through a phase of rebellion, and almost everyone I know either was pushed around or was the bully in secondary school. Considering the fact that there will be many peers as it is, giving them one more excuse for cruel behaviour would ruin the childhood for those who may be slow learners, although learning at your own personal speed might be more beneficial, as every individual would have their needs met. In conclusion, I do not think that streaming students is a good idea, even though the quality of learning might increase; it is not worth ruining the years of life for kids that should be filled with joy and laughter, as well as making it more difficult to adapt in upcoming social situations.