Some people think the news has no connection to people's lives, so then it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In the modern world, some people argue that news does not connect to people's reality, therefore, reading the news in the newspaper or watching online on television can waste time. I strongly disagree with the statement that reading the news is a waste of time. To begin with, news plays a virtual role in society, it makes people keep in touch with the incident that happened or reports future disasters through weather forecasts to suggest people live in a safe area. For example, Japan releases news on television to warn people in the country about tsunamis that will come in other days to move to a high place. Furthermore, nowadays every person can have their own smartphone so it's more convenient to know about news by just searching on Google. The news would be important for people to live easier in this world. On the other hand, newspapers could not be environmentally friendly because they use wood to produce them which can lead to more disasters because the number of trees is reduced. For instance, the industry of newspaper in China cut the trees around 1 million trees per month. Additionally, nowadays the development of technology has reduced the number of newspaper production because people tend to watch some news on the television or their devices. Last but not least, news could connect to people's lives and it was more environmentally friendly than before. To sum up, I believe that reading the news is not a waste of time, also, it can make people's lives more effective in this modern world.