Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

It is widely believed that a large number of offenders commit further crimes immediately after serving their sentence. In this essay, I will explain some reasons for this problem and suggest several possible solutions. First and foremost, nowadays, giving harsh punishment and long-term sentences is not enough for offenders to significantly change personally. In addition to this, prisoners have to take part in rehabilitation programmes and continuously work with highly qualified psychologists. Furthermore, poor treatment of ex- prisoners is widespread in contemporary society. For example, they cannot find a new job and reintegrate into society because of their status as an ex-prisoner. Thus, prisoners continue to commit crimes to survive and earn easy money. There are several effective solutions to reduce ex- prisoners activity. Firstly, rehabilitation and psychological consultations must be an integral part of the prison sentence. Prison’s conditions must be changed and improved. Every person deserves a chance to change their life. The best example of this experiment is Norway’s prison system, where prisoners try to live as ordinary people, work, cook, do chores and communicate with others. This system has the lowest indicators of reoffending in the world. Moreover, it is an interesting experiment to provide special cash allowances for prisoners, who show good results while being in custody. In conclusion, I want to say that the international prison system is forced to make several changes to reduce crimes. Better treatment and a chance at an ordinary life work significantly better than long-term sentences.