Many people today buy ready made food rather than spending time cooking. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Just by taking a quick glance at how our society is developing, it is no surprise to anyone that we are becoming more and more busy, buried in our day-to-day responsibilities and activities. That being said, we have started creating many different alternatives to ease our way of living, to save time and energy, and to focus our strength on things that allow us to improve. One of the alternatives we have come up with is ready-made food. Whilst I agree that there are plenty of reasons why many individuals would opt for the convenience of simply purchasing and quickly heating up their meals, there are some drawbacks to it, and maybe putting in that effort and energy might be more beneficial for you. Firstly, nowadays jobs are quite demanding — from the various and complex tasks that have to be done to an 8-to-6 schedule — which, of course, would tire you, leaving you with no choice other than going for a pre-made meal bought from a supermarket, which would be ready just by putting it in the microwave for 3 minutes. Also, in the case of individuals who have kids, they might be by themselves when they get home from school hungry and not old enough to prepare a meal without risking cutting or burning themselves or the food. Therefore, a ready-made meal would save them from the hassle and worry of parents fearing that their child might not manage to prepare something to eat and would stay hungry until they come home to cook. Secondly, it is not news to anyone that pre-made meals are more affordable than buying all the ingredients from the grocery store, using electricity, water, and other supplies in order to prepare a meal. As it has indeed become tougher to budget your salary in order to avoid debt and maybe save some money for a future vacation, ready-made meals from the grocery store give you the opportunity to save money and make better use of it. So, a lot of individuals who are struggling financially would choose the easier and more affordable way out of their debt. On the other hand, we can’t just look past the fact that companies that sell ready-made meals don’t always use the freshest or best-quality ingredients. In addition to that, their products spend a good amount of time on store shelves waiting to be bought and consumed. Of course, ready-made meals don’t supply your body with the vitamins, nutrients, and minerals that our organism needs in order to function properly and feel its best. For example, I can’t deny that when I used to eat ready-made meals, my body carried extra weight; I felt sluggish, tired, and experienced brain fog — compared to how energetic I feel now, how sharp my mind is, and how I finally reached a healthy weight. That being said, ready-made foods can be a lifesaver in some cases, allowing us to save time and money and easing up the challenges we face every day. However, we can’t be oblivious to the fact that they are not the healthiest alternatives out there, and if you care about your well-being and weight, you should definitely put in the effort to prepare yourself a nutrient-dense meal.