In the last century, urban development has focused on building tall building as opposed to wide flat ones. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Due to a rapid increase in population since the last century, in urban areas, skyscrapers are built more often instead of wide flats. This practice has both merits and demerits, related ideas will be perused in the forthcoming paragraphs along with the conclusion. The population of metropolises is swelling day by day as most of the job-seekers are shifting from rural areas, which incites the builders to build tall buildings instead of constructing wide flats. This move has various advantages and foremost one is that people can obtain all types of amenities under one roof; as a result, they do not need to go anywhere else to quench their thirst. For instance, the folks who reside in skyscrapers have no need to go outside the building in order to purchase their necessities such as groceries. Moreover, for entertainment, they already have cinemas in the same building, which is most popular pros of the skyscrapers. As every coin has two sides, in spite of several merits of tall buildings, there are some demerits of these, and the cost is the most burning concern of apartments, which is far beyond the reach of middle-class families. To cite an example, in large cosmopolises like Mumbai, the cost of a single-bedroom flat is more than a crore, which is out of reach of poor and middle-class families. Consequently, the cost is the most common drawback of this shift as people cannot afford to live in such apartments. In conclusion, although there are plenty of pros of tall buildings yet their cons cannot be neglected. Thus, the higher authorities should pay heed to the problem of the cost of skyscrapers so that middle-class families can also enjoy luxurious living in these edifices.