In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

People living a longer life than ever before in many countries, especially developed countries because of the advancement in the health sector. An elderly citizens are create extra burden to the government by means of responsibilities to take care of aged people. Although, it brings some benefits to the society by exchange of experience, knowledge between elderly and young people. Firstly, because of the advancement in the health industry, inhabitants are living in a longer life. This trend will continue to grow because of the invention of vaccine of various diseases, improvement in the medical instruments, new better way to treat an existing diseases, etc., meaning government have to expense more and employ more population to take care of the senior citizens. Governments have to increase the tax rate on goods or tariff rate on imported goods or reduce the expense of one sector to bear the extra expenses. When tax rate increase on goods, prices of those goods will increase, means that people have to pay more on purchasing goods. Also, whenever government increase the tariff rate on the necessity imported items, importers will pass the increased amount on the end consumers. Overall, the standard of living of the citizens will fall. Sometime governments have to reduce the budget in one important sector so that they can bear the extra expenses to take care of the elderly people, rather than investing on a sector which could generate revenue and employment. For instance, in Canada, Japan, etc. where life expectancy is over 80 years, huge amount of money is spending by the government to take of the elderly people. On the other hand, when the life long experience of aged people shared with young generation, they will be benefited. As they experience lots of things in their life, so they can guide young people to overcome from a particular difficulty that elderly people already faced. In conclusion, despite the benefits it brings to the youth, but the burden it brings to the government to take care of them and indirectly affecting the population can not be neglected. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.