Some people think that the ability to compete with others for a successful career is more important. Others believe that the ability to work with others as a team is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary workplace, there have been considerable discussions about the relationships among employees. To be more specific, whether cooperation or competition should be encouraged is still a controversial issue. Some people maintain that working with others as a team is more significant. One paramount reason for this view is that they believe this approach to work is beneficial to achieve career success. The process and atmosphere of friendly cooperation enable staff to keep optimistic, brave and resilient for not only personal ambitions but also team success. Sometimes, a collective aim is more likely to motivate individuals to work energetically and creatively and thus cooperation is more valuable. Additionally, carrying out a working project together with colleagues, especially when they work face-to-face, can trigger creativity, which can facilitate work to be completed exceptionally and successfully. However, this can hardly be reached by individual diligent efforts and even genuine intelligence. Conversely, some opponents contend that competing with others for a successful career is more crucial. First of all, if choosing to compete with other workers, an employee may have a stronger sense of motivation and determination, which is extremely conducive to finishing every routine task and achieving final goals. This is a justification and demonstration that this person is competent and can also strengthen personal confidence. Nevertheless, I, as a worker in a corporation, do not think so. From my personal experience, competition is prone to raise tensions among colleagues and lead to stress and depression, which adversely affect work rather than contribute to improving work efficiency. In conclusion, I tend to posit that cooperation with others in the workplace is more important, as it can foster positive emotions and creativity. These are meaningful and precious to both the daily well-being of workers and their success.