many people assume that the goal of each country should be to produce more materials and goods. to what extand do you agree or disagree

A bunch of people, say that the aim of county is to manufacture products and materials in a big quantity. I agree with this idea, but it also has some negatives. The main reason why I agree is that country can rise their Gross Domestic Product and build some new skyscrapers. This is because country can actually export their goods to some big countries to claim money and spend to their citizens. For instance, the USA and some well-known campaigns such as Apple or Microsoft earn a lot of money and pay huge fees for government. The second reason is that country can become the most productive country such as China where people work hard and sell their goods for foreigners and help to government. However, countries may sell their products and help people with their lives, it shouldn't be in the first place because government has other things to do such as repairing the roads and so on. China is a great example, where government also looks after their citizens and their conditions. To conclude, I agree that it is good to produce products and goods more, but it shouldn't be the key goal to be the best or something.