Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often stated that libraries are unnecessary these days due to the fact that students have easy access to information via the internet. I disagree with this view because libraries allow people to attain specialised types of information, although the merits of online materials should also be taken into account. There is some truth in the argument that students find it much easier and faster to get general academic information connected to their studies on the internet. That is to say, information now is far more accessible because nearly everyone owns a smartphone or an iPad. In addition, the information on the internet is limitless. For instance, a lot of books, magazines, articles, and useful information are posted on websites or forums to help learners access data without paying any borrowing fee. Therefore, they can not only save money but also achieve whatever they want more quickly. However, I believe that libraries are still essential in schools and universities as well as public library facilities. One reason for this is that some types of specialised information cannot be found on the internet. For instance, most well-known academic authors do not immediately publish their recent work online; instead, they publish books explaining their analyses and results. Therefore, these books are usually found in university or school libraries before they appear on the World Wide Web. Furthermore, if pupils go to a library, they can concentrate and focus better. Libraries are very quiet, and everyone there is motivated to investigate and study. As a result, they create an academic environment that encourages deep concentration. To sum up, while it is partly true that the internet is of great benefit to students, I would argue that libraries are still necessary as they grant access to specialised sources of information and their facilities provide better conditions for studying.