News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspaper. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Nowadays, journalists decide whether news should be shown on TV or written in newspapers. The importance and attractiveness of news impact these decisions. Although many people are keen on hearing or reading bad news, it is widely believed that decent news spreads hope in society and protects human mental well-being. To begin with, the importance of news influences the editor's selection. A hurricane forecast or a damaged bridge are issues that need to be broadcast immediately. In the following, the total population of viewers or readers is another vital factor in this decision. A large proportion of society just relies on their television. Therefore, the editors pay attention to this matter. For example, the headlines and influential news are shown on TV briefly, and the advantages and disadvantageous of that news are explained in newspapers. The number of bad news stories is typically more than good news stories, and it is undeniable that people are attracted to negative news. So, they get used to it. To illustrate, if people pick up a random newspaper, they will see ten warring news stories and maybe a positive news story. It even gets worse. People hold a negative attitude towards good news. They usually think it is fake, and they always prepare themselves for an arduous situation. It is generally accepted that positive news improves mental well-being. Bad news puts psychological pressure on people. They are afraid of taking risks in their lives. As a result, they do not focus on improving the economy. On the other hand, good news can increase life expectancy in a society, and it will protect their physical health. To conclude, reporters decide to show news on TV or newspapers based on the importance and attractiveness of the news, and most individuals prefer to hear bad news; however, hopeful news can be better for their mental health.