Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many argue that a child learns what is acceptable for society at home, while some believe that school is a better place where these values are taught. Although teachers can certainly change children ’s mindset it will not account for the influence other students have, and that is why I think that they should be raised accordingly by parents as they know what the specific needs of their sons and daughters are. On one hand, teachers do show their students what is right and wrong. This is because they do not only teach their specific subject, but they also keep discipline in the classroom. If they do not do the latter, they will fail to create a good learning environment because children will just disrespect the tutor and stop following the norms. A good example of this, is how the youth is taught to behave properly during a class in Japan, where they would stop any bad behaviour as they already know what is acceptable and what is not. However, the negative influence that some students have over the rest is not taken into consideration, just how it happens in the United States with children who sell drugs at school and make others depend on illegal substances. On the other hand, parents can tailor their parenting to match their children ’s particular needs. Not all the girls and boys have the same personality traits, so a generalized teaching experience will not have the same outcome for all the students. A father or a mother could take all the background information surrounding a child and use it to act on what is specifically necessary to teach them how to discern bad and good behaviour. For example, there are some children with ADHD or anger issues, problems that most teachers are not aware of, but that parents know and can tackle in a proper way to teach valuable lessons. This is for me, a better approach to show a child the correct path and will ensure they are really understanding what is right and wrong. In conclusion, even when school teachings have a real impact on their students ’ discipline, it does not consider the impact of children who lead others into wrongdoing, and that is why it is better to teach them proper manners back at home because parents can adapt to the particular circumstances a child is facing.