Nowadays, more and more young Vietnamese people celebrate festivals such as Christmas and Halloween. Some people think there is nothing wrong with this while others are worried about the influence of foreign cultures. What is your opinion?

Opinions are often divided as to whether there will be any detrimental influence in light of more foreign festivals in Vietnamese culture. From my perspective, I support both sides of the matter due to the following aspects. On the one hand, there are compelling reasons why it is justifiable to celebrate foreign festivals. Chief among these is the attribution to globalisation. With a view to thriving in a connected world, many have adopted different cultural practices, reinforcing diversity and fostering social cohesion. Therefore, embracing nonnative festivals is more than having appreciation for differences, but paving the way for togetherness, forging a common identity for humankind. Furthermore, at the core of festivals is to highlight the themes of virtues and bonds. To illustrate, celebrations like Christmas, though originated beyond Vietnam, carry the spirit to showcase gratitude and cherish moments with loved ones. This educational value, hence, makes festivals deserve their presence in Vietnamese lives. On the one hand, there are convincing reasons to justify the celebration of foreign festivals. Primarily, this trend reflects the impact of globalisation, where adopting diverse cultural practices promotes inclusivity and strengthens social cohesion. Embracing nonnative celebrations, therefore, is not merely about appreciating differences but about building a shared sense of humanity. Moreover, festivals inherently emphasise virtues and togetherness. For example, Christmas, though foreign to Vietnam, conveys universal values of gratitude and love, which enrich the moral and emotional fabric of Vietnamese society. However, equally important is the concern about distinct cultural identity. More focus on cultural exchange may lead to the predominant position of foreign festivals, which pale traditional ones into insignificance. Such an imbalance can potentially decrease interest in preserving the unique spiritual features, weakening the deep-rooted values that are continued through generations. For instance, elements like decorative arts or rituals in Vietnamese long-established festivals have been less engaged as part of cultural evolution, where content on exotic festivities seems to allure younger individuals more. In the grand scheme of things, I contend that celebrating international festivals is a two-dimensional trend for the Vietnamese. It is of paramount importance to critically adapt foreign cultures that positively contribute to and enrich modern society, while maintaining the survival of valuable traditional practices.