Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Every nation has their own culture and language. Thus, living in a foreign country can cause some serious problems. Yet, I completely disagree with this statement since technology nowadays could be really helpful. A compelling factor that accounts for why individuals may cause serious social and practical problems in a foreign country is that they are not familiar with local customs. Every country has their own cultures, certain meanings of gestures, and even the tone of speaking. It is, in turn, easy for people to offend local people due to a lack of cultural knowledge. For instance, in Taiwan, guests prepare red envelopes to show respects and to celebrate on weddings. However, in Japan, it is white envelopes that they receive as gifts and blessing during weddings. As a result, if Taiwanese people living in Japan prepare red envelopes for the couples, it may cause social problems. Nevertheless, with the rapid advancement of technology, I believe all these problems can be solved. An increasing number of cutting-edge products has been released over the past few decades. Individuals can now easily live in foreign countries without having to learn local languages. A kind of translating glasses which I saw on the Internet, can automatically interprete all the words the speaker said on the lens for users. In addition, it can also translate what the user said to others. This technology can efficiently eliminate the barriers between native speakers and foreigners. Futhermore, by searching information online first, people can avoid falling into the embarrassment attributed to cultural differences. In conclusion, although in the past, language barriers and cultural differences may cause some serious social and practical problems, I contend that nowadays, with the help of technology and artificial intelligence, it is easier for foreigners to avoid these obstacles.