In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, an ever-increasing number of people opt for e- books instead of hard copies. Although this trend entails some drawbacks, I contend that the benefits of it are more significant. One major drawback of this development is its vulnerability to digital piracy. With the development of software applications, new ways of plagiarism of the content are emerged. As a result, the authors and digital libraries are losing their income, due to the fact that many people might choose to pay less or even get them for free from different sources. For example, many books from the e-library named "O’Really" were extracted with a specific browser extension, which decreased their sales. This drawback notwithstanding, I believe the upsides are more considerable. The primary advantage of this tendency is that it decreases harm for the ecology: in contrast to paper books, digital ones do not require specific materials, such as wood, to be published. As a result, the deforestation levels could be reduced. Another merit is that since they would be published online, more income could be obtained, due to the low production and delivery costs; the price for the book would look more affordable to people. Moreover, it could reach a much wider audience as no physical boundaries are present. For instance, many authors use stores like Amazon and sell their works all around the world. In conclusion, individuals prefer more digital books more than traditional books. Although there is a concern about digital piracy, my firm conviction is that the presented advantages outweigh it.