More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause? What do you think is a possible solution?

The number of people owning their first car has increased significantly in developing countries. The principal problems this causes are pollution and traffic congestion, and the most viable solution is to restrict car use in downtown areas. The primary issue developing countries face when their citizens start to buy cars is increased pollution. This occurs as a result of growing hazardous exhaust fumes from those private vehicles which ranks only behind the carbon emission from industrial activities. The greater number of personal means of transport on the road is also responsible for a rise in traffic jams. This is because the road system and infrastructure in low and middle-income countries have not kept up with the volume of traffic, especially in metropolis cities. Narrow streets, lack of parking lots and ineffective traffic system often result in long-hour traffic jams which make it a nightmare for most commuters. For example, during rush hours in Vietnam it may take from 20 minutes up to 50 minutes to travel a 500-meter distance. A solution to these problems is to ban private cars in downtown areas while only allowing public transportation. This would solve the problems by discouraging current car owners from communting to work this way as well as making other people consider more carefully before purchasing their first car. For example, local authorities in Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam passed on laws to restrict cars in the city center last year and continue to expand the list of places where private cars are strictly prohibited. This has resulted in a larger number of passengers in other public transportations such as buses or trams. The proportion of citizens resorting to other greener vehicles such as bicycles is also climbed markedly. In conclusion, due to the growing number of first-time car buyers, the major problems that developing countries are facing are worsening air quality and persistent heavy traffic and limiting private cars in city areas is thought to be the most viable solution to this issue.