Many people think that the behavior of professional sportsmen off the field is not important as long as they are good players. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

There is an argument that athletes should only focus to their play techniques and it is not related to how they behave socially outside the field. I personally disagree with this notion, and I will elaborate more on this essay. Firstly, professional sportsmen have a huge leverage over their fans. As many people, particularly teenagers, serve the athletes as idols, they tend to follow their behaviour in general. The younger fans are likely to copy what their idols do and make it a trend, even though it is not the right thing. For example, Budi, an Indonesian famous football player, was often spotted by paparazzi drinking alcohol in public, while it is not common to do such a thing in the country. Owing to this phenomenon, the fans, teenagers in particular, will follow their idols' behaviour and it will be such a trend among them. Therefore, sports players need to behave carefully to avoid becoming a bad influence on minor groups. Secondly, good behaviour leads to maintaining the athletes ' performance. As they take care of their well-being, they can perform well in the field. Whereas, if the athletes ignore healthy lifestyles, their quality performance may be decreased. For instance, studies show that 30% of professional football players are smokers and they are more likely to get injured during the play than the non-smokers' footballers. Moreover, the researchers explain that smoking reduces their endurance. Hence, sports players need to pay attention to their way of life in order to maintain best practices professionally in the long term. In conclusion, I strongly believe that professional sportsmen have a responsibility to keep their behaviour in terms of being a good influence on their fans and applying a healthy way of life to maintain their performance.