Some people feel that the primary function of a university should be to prepare students for the working world. Others argue that the purpose of a university education is to provide knowledge for knowledge’s sake. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that work-related education for students should be the primary function of a university, while others oppose this statement and believe that students should be taught theoretical knowledge to broaden their minds. In my opinion, I believe that practical learning is far more beneficial for students than just gaining general knowledge at a university. One of the primary reasons for career-specific learning is that it provides students with relevant knowledge and skills aligned with a particular profession. This teaching method allows students to become competent and job-ready once they graduate. In the UK, for example, universities provide courses with a year of placements, and those who enrol on these courses often secure jobs soon after graduating. In addition, this type of education can lead to faster career progression. Since learners focus on a defined skills set, they can enter the workforce earlier and develop skills sooner than those who studied a more general academic path. On the other hand, gaining knowledge without focusing on career-specific training can broaden one's perspective. Studying a variety of subjects helps students to understand the world better and to develop critical thinking, which is valuable in any aspect of life. In addition, general studies can also bring flexibility in student's career. Since learners have skills and knowledge in all subject areas, they can change professions based on their needs. In conclusion, university students can be more flexible in terms of jobs by gaining general knowledge. However, I believe that career-specific knowledge has more benefits than general academic pathways as it ensures students ' employability and faster career progressions.