Some people believe that school children should be made to wear a uniform. Others feel that children should be free to choose their own clothes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There have been widespread discussions about whether school students should wear a uniform or not. Some people argue that wearing a uniform should be obligatory. Others, however, disagree and believe that clothing, in general, is a personal preference. In this context, it is a matter of debate. On the one hand, people in favour of maintaining an exclusive dress code for young pupils at schools have their valid rationale. Firstly, school uniform promotes a sense of unity and belonging amongst students. Hence reducing peer pressure related to clothing choices. For example, studies consistently reveal that schools with obligatory uniforms have more active social life, compared to other schools with optional uniforms. Secondly and more importantly, wearing a uniform might save time and reduce stress for students and parents in choosing appropriate clothes for school. Lastly, the uniform is considered one of the means of equalizing students from diverse socio-economic backgrounds. As a result, bullying and social segregation will be diminished. On the other hand, some people in favour of uniform elimination believe that it could bring numerous benefits to pupils. Providing freedom of choice regarding clothes will embrace their sense of individuality. For example, when a child is given the responsibility to choose his daily outwear, this might develop and strengthen his independent personality traits. Therefore, it would not only enhance their overall personal style, but it would also increase their general confidence. In addition, poor self-image and body imperfections could be hidden easily if minor tailored modifications have been made to their clothes. Chubby pupils, for instance, prefer to wear loose shirts with specific colours so as to appear less husky, or rather they will get bullied. To sum up, although there are clear benefits of wearing a uniform in schools, I do not believe they should be made mandatory, as this also provides important boons. In the future, schools should make further investigations regarding this debate with the inclusion of both parents and students.